Notice of AGM – Thursday 24th May 2018

This is formal notice that the 2018 AGM of the ACA will be held on Thursday 24th May at 7.00pm  in the Fisherman’s Rest, Aveton Gifford.

Copies of the 2017 AGM Minutes and 2017EOY Accounts will be available at the meeting.

As always, Committee members must retire and, if they so wish, stand for re-election at the AGM. Our current Committee is willing to stand again en masse and consists of Ros Brousson (Secretary & Treasurer; Aveton Gifford), Mary Clark (Woodleigh), Ryan Hooper (Bantham), Mike Cooper (Loddiswell), Peter Marsh (Bigbury), Bill Starey (AG), Stuart Watts (Chairman; Bigbury), and Eric White (AG).  Our Constitution specifies no maximum number of committee members and if you would like to stand you should complete the attached Nomination Form and return it to me prior to the AGM.  Any new nominations must be proposed and seconded by ACA members to be valid.  It is no criticism of our current committee to point out that an injection of fresh ideas is always welcome.

The Committee very much hopes you will be able to come to the AGM.  However, if this is not possible, please let one of us have your views on any matters concerning the ACA and we will make sure they are raised at the meeting.

This year, the formal business of the AGM will be followed by a talk about ‘Microplastics in the Aquatic Environment’  by Dr Pennie Lindeque of the Plymouth Marine Labs.  Pennie is a  renowned expert on the bioavailability and impact of microplastic in our oceans, a topic of immense topical interest and concern, worldwide.  She is also a Bigbury resident and ACA member.

The evening will be topped off with a light buffet.   This year, for the first time, we shall be asking for donations to help with the cost of the food and hire of the room.

We look forward to seeing you on 24th May.

Leave a Reply